Dropping a prefix letter when upgrading.

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by K9KXW, Mar 17, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. K9KXW

K9KXW Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello everyone,

I am studying for my General class upgrade and wondered if the the FCC automatically drops the second letter in the prefix of your callsign to make it a 1x3 to show the upgrade or if it remains the same?

I would like to drop the "C" off of my prefix and go to K9KXW instead just to shorten it especially for CW work. If they don't do it automatically, will I have to request a vanity callsign after my upgrade is complete and the K9KXW callsign is available by then?

Thanks and 73 de Jim
    KC9KXW

2. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

The FCC will not change call signs, unless you request it on upgrade. But you will just get another sequentially issued call sign, similar to what you now have. If you want that K9KXW it looks like it might be available, just go ahead and apply for it now. You don't have to wait for general to get a vanity call.

Also, if you want a short call for CW, check out calls like N9AEA or something similar, that have light CW weights.

3. K9KXW

K9KXW Ham Member QRZ Page

Thanks Joe for info especially the "light CW weights" comment. I never thought about that on. I will look up some some call letters and figure out what I like.

I'm not familiar with the FCC website anymore and not sure where to go to get all of this done though. Any hints would be appreciated.

4. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page