Doublet Questions

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by K3HMG, Mar 4, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. K3HMG

K3HMG Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a fairly new radio operator and I am about to start exploring the HF world. I am wanting to build a multi band broadside doublet covering 10, 12, 15, 17, 20, 30, 40 meters. The length calls for 44’ (13.4m), however my space in limited to approx 30’. Going to be feeding the antenna with 450 ohm balanced line into a manual tuner.

Would it be possible to use loading coils so I can shorten the length to say 28’? If so is there a calculator out there to build the coils? I know there are coil calculators out there, but I haven’t found one that recommends a certain size based on going from a certain length to a shorter length and that would be compatible at multiple freqs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. K0OKS

K0OKS Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I would just let the ends of the doublet hang down, or zig zag them a bit.

M0AGP, G5TM, N7EKU and 4 others like this.
  3. K3HMG

K3HMG Ham Member QRZ Page

I thought of that as well was a bit concerned about performance. Maybe an easier route would be to linear load it which IMO is much easier that coil loading.

4. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

5. KI4IO

KI4IO Ham Member QRZ Page

An interesting problem
    I'd be inclined to fabricate some wide-spaced open-wire feed (instead of the window-line) and see how things
    work with your manual tuner. I use my 40 meter dipole on 80 meters with 4" spacing OWL and seem to do
    quite well. Your manual tuner might have a hard time with the feed impedance on 30 and 40. My coupler is
    a reversible L-network and I'm able to switch from high to low-Z loads. Of course, YMMV!

Good Luck
    Jerry
    KI4IO
    Warrenton, VA

6. KH6AQ

KH6AQ XML Subscriber QRZ Page