Do you mind if a low-level CW op can only make contact/report?

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KE0EYJ, Jul 4, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KE0EYJ

KE0EYJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Do you mind if a CW op is so low level that they can only give you a signal report, say TU, and that is it?

I would say "beginner" but I'm not a beginner, and just have opportunity to plink around with CW from time to time. I stopped because after almost 9 months of practice at 15 mins or so a day, I wasn't happy with my progress (and I have too many other things going on to continue it). I do like listening to stations and finding where they are from. But should I be on air transmitting if a signal report is all that I can do, or will this just bother people?

I have tried this before, but some want to say more than that, and I quickly become lost, and end the conversation (unless I use FLDIGI and cheat).

I have considered picking up a QRP pocket rig to try from the mountains near home.

PU2OZT likes this.
  2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

The "signal report and TU" stuff may be contesters or "SKCC" ops who seemingly are not interested in actual conversation, but just a new number.

For me, that's sad.

I like CW ragchews, and some go on for a very long time (30-60 mins, occasionally longer if condx permit).

I never answer anyone calling "CQ SKCC" specifically because of this.

K7TRF, KY8D, N8AFT and 1 other person like this.
  3. WA9FZB

WA9FZB XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Steve - I think the OP is asking if we would mind if he made QSO with one of us and only could stay around for a quick signal report and TU. He is not yet confident in his code skills, so he can't manage a longer QSO.