Do I need a cw filter?

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by KE9RJM, Dec 22, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KE9RJM

KE9RJM Ham Member QRZ Page

New general ticket ham...I will be running an Icom IC-718 with DSP, LDG z-100Plus tuner and an indoor Mag Loop antenna as a startup (learning) rig.

Since the antenna is indoors I am thinking about using QRP levels for both phone and (as soon as i learn) CW .

My question is, for general rag chewing - not contests, do I really need a CW filter? I hate to spend an additional $170 or so unless it really makes things that much easier...I appreciate any input.

Thank,

Bob McCann
    KE9RJM

2. KM4DYX

KM4DYX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Welcome aboard, Bob. I'm new at CW myself, but I think that is safe to say that yes, you need a CW filter. There are times when you're just not going to be able to copy the station you're in a QSO with unless you can block out the other traffic near your frequency.

Good luck learning CW; if an old dog like me can learn, anybody can. Hope to catch you on the air soon.

Al

WN1MB, KU3X and KB2SMS like this.
  3. NN4RH

NN4RH Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Having a narrow IF filter, 300 to 500 Hz, available for CW can certainly help if there's other strong stations near the frequency you're trying to work someone on. An audio filter can be useful too but not as effective as an IF filter.

Having said that, though, I had plenty of contacts without a narrow filter for several years. You can get used to listening to certain CW pitch or tone and you can kind of train yourself to ignore other signals than the one you're listening for ... sort of filter it in your head. That doesn't help if the interfering signals are strong enough to overwhelm the AGC, but you can get by just fine most of the time. Helps if you operate times and bands that are not real crowded.