Decades later, finally going to get license.

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by FINALLY50, Jan 8, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Left-2
  1. FINALLY50

FINALLY50 QRZ Member

Hello.
    When I was just a little kid, my dad brought me an old military surplus radio.
    Old in as had all vacuum tubes and air-gap capacitors. Luckily, Radio Shack still had tube testers, which nobody used anymore. I got really strange looks when I brought in a box full of tubes to test!
    I got everything RX working and had a ton of fun listening in to everything from Morse code to one station I thought was Soviet, but turned out to be San Francisco in Russian.
    I never got enough money together for an antenna for TX, so I don't know if that part worked. I studied electronics a ton and learned everything I needed to know to get a license.
    Well, except for Morse code. I tried, but it was too hard without a partner to work with.

Now I'm 50 and I have wanted to get licensed for a while, but didn't have the spare cash for a unit, plus we traveled all over Mexico and Guatemala for several years.
    Some friends in a group I'm part of all have HT's and I decided that now was a good time to finally do it.
    Surprise, looking for HT's, I found that tons of places just have them on back order. Amazon also has this problem and they have raised their prices through the roof!

I ordered one model, but they said it was 3-4 weeks back order. I told them what I was looking for in general. So I ordered a Yaesu FT-3DR.
    Looks like it does a lot. So that's going to be interesting.
    I got some advice from a ham when asking about chirp software that he advised against getting anything like a BaoBao or TYT-TYT. He liked ICOM and a Kenwood he bought.