D-Star/Echo Link/Fusion/DMR

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by M6MQN, Sep 9, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: FBNews-1
ad: L-MFJ
  1. M6MQN

M6MQN Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi guys,
    I'm very new to radio and seen a guy in our club showing people how his d star DV mega hotspot worked but he's new to d star etc so couldn't answer all my questions.

I thought it was amazing as long as he had power to the hotspot weather it was wifi at home using his PC or teathing his mobile data plan to it he could talk world wide with ease don't get me wrong I want to work radio to radio etc but my plan at home is to pop up a 2/70 and a hf antenna, when the 2/70 is quite local or through the local repeater I'll go on the the hotspot but my question is...

D Stars expensive to start up so if I did a DMR/Echo link with a raspberry pi would it work the same ?? Could I use the DMR hotspot to talk to D Star guys ?? Or am I better of buying an icom and going down the d star route ??

I like the thought that when the bands local etc are quite I can just do d star/DMR and when we go walking/travelling with the caravan as long as I get signal I'll can operate with ease without worrying about no hitting the local repeater etc.

Any more info would be appreciated!!

73's
    M6MQN
    Josh

2. K0RGR

K0RGR Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

This unit promises to provide the ability to use a DMR or DSTAR radio and use either network with the one radio. Later, they promise the ability to do FUSION and some other modes. http://wirelesshold.com/dv4home-2.aspx I don't see any indication of an availability date for this, which is a bit disappointing because they were earlier saying it would be available in the fall (but I guess they didn't say which year).

I don't think you would go far wrong with the DV4Mini in the meantime, but you will need a radio for each mode. I'd suggest DMR, since DMR HTs are the cheapest.

3. NC5P

NC5P Ham Member QRZ Page