ad: elecraft

CW transceiver question

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by KA4NYW, Jun 21, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KA4NYW

KA4NYW Ham Member QRZ Page

Good morning to everyone. I was a novice in the 80's and loved cw. I'm just returning to ham radio with my tech. I am studying for general. I'm asking for input on an affordable solid transceiver that is good for cw (as well as other hf). I am not opposed to used equipment and that would probably be the direction I need to go in. Something like the xiegu g90 is not what I'm looking for, although I don't have a lot of room. I've done some searches but it's been a very long time since I've been the ham radio market. Thanks in advance,
    Steve

2. W5UAA

W5UAA Ham Member QRZ Page

That's a voluminous question. It's like asking what car should I buy, or what house should I buy, or what gun should I buy? For just about everything on the market, you'll find someone who says *that's* the one you should buy. The real answer turns out to be a very personal choice.

I bought my first Icom in the 80's. Icom has been good to me. All I do are Icoms. Icoms have been all I've ever done. I like Icom.

This might change when I run out of my current stock of Icoms. (Edit: because my current requirement for new radios is that it does not include D-Star... or Fusion... or DMR.)

Edit2: in response to the posting below: I'll say Icom has a good reputation for CW (except the 718).

Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
    W5ESE likes this.
  3. KA4NYW

KA4NYW Ham Member QRZ Page

I agree. Maybe it would be easier if I simply asked which used rigs have a good cw reputation. Thanks for the reply.

W5ESE likes this.
  4. KC9YGN

KC9YGN Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page