CW filter settings- what do you prefer?

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by NG9F, Sep 26, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. NG9F

NG9F Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

So the 7610 that I got has 3 different filters and I can set the bandwidth and soft or sharp. A friend sent me the QST review, and I see that he mentions changing the settings from 1.2k/500/250 to 1000/350/150. So I did that, and I am pretty sure that will make me a big gun DXer. :) No but really, does anyone have input on these settings? When I send my QRL? I keep it wide, then usually switch it to 350 once I get an answer but frankly I haven't used 150 at all yet.

I have no idea of the difference between a soft or sharp filter- I am a rank beginner with CW, so will I care at all? Still it's fun to play with these menu options.

The QST article also mentions turning IP+ off to increase sensitivity, and I see that that was already done so either it is the factory default or I did it.

VK2WP likes this.
  2. VK2WP

VK2WP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I recently purchased a 7610 and have wondered the same thing about the CW filters. Usually use 500Hz and sometime go narrower 250Hz.

Really still trying to get to grips with the filters and the audio peak filter, adjustable gain etc.

The manual is big on how to do things but does not give any explanations or as to why to do things. Nor gives any recommended settings as a starter for a new user.

Messed around a bit with sharp or soft filter and really could not see much difference.
    Again why ?

Will be interested in what other 7610 users have to say.

NG9F likes this.
  3. KA2CZU

KA2CZU XML Subscriber QRZ Page

sharper filters are beneficial during times of very heavy QRM, say during contests.

4. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page