CW Encode/Decode ardware/Software "Ethics" question.

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KF4ZEQ, Jul 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
  1. KF4ZEQ

KF4ZEQ Guest

CW Encode/Decode Hardware/Software "Ethics" question.

So, as I have wandered through life (well the past 12-13 years anyway) as A Tech, I failed to pick up the ability of CW, which for years limited my ability to upgrade. After the new rules went into effect I began the bookwork for the upgrade, Life happened, and now I have finally upgraded. With that being said, I understand the need, and enjoyment one can get from CW, including the increase in band areas availible to make contacts.
    Many hours of studying have lead me to to complete frustration with attempting to learn CW, add to that the recent discovery of tone deafness, which explains some difficulty I have while studying, It has made me research CW aids, such as software or hardware to decode/encode CW. After talking with a few other Hams about this, I decided I have opened a can of worms. Some believe that using such methods is "cheathing" if you do not know code at all, others have said it's quite fair and have endorsed the use as a way to make those CW contacts. A few even suggested that a high percentage of CW contacts these days are made using these methods.
    While I know there is no right or wrong here, I'm really curious what others think of this idea.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2011
  2. K7MH

K7MH XML Subscriber QRZ Page