Cutting an 11 meter Firestik antenna for 2 meters

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by WR0H, Jun 30, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. WR0H

WR0H XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I am an over-the-road truck driver and have been a licensed ham since 1971. I want to use 2 meters in the truck but my antenna choices are limited since my truck belongs to the company I drive for.

I have a 4 foot long Firestik CB antenna that I would like to cut down to a quarter wave on 2 meters. It's a simple fiberglass rod with a wire wound around the outside, covered with a PVC coating. While it's not an optimum performer, a quarter wave is fine for my purposes, I just need to know where to saw the antenna off. Do I cut it where the total (unwrapped) length of wire is 19", or where the rod is 19" regardless of how much wire is wound around it to that point?

2. WR0H

WR0H XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Being the impatient/inquisitive type, I put it in the vise, measured up 15" from the bottom (the 2M Firestik is 15" long) and sawed it off with a hacksaw. Connected it to my Kenwood and I'm hitting repeaters all over. Good enough.

KK4CCA likes this.
  3. KO6WB

KO6WB Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

There you go!!!!!!

A little inventiveness goes a long way when you want to get it done.
    Likely that would have been the advice you'd have been given except, you would have been told to cut it at 19 inches and cut it down from that point.

BTW welcome to QRZ and have fun with amateur radio.

Gary

KD8NGE and K9ASE like this.
  4. K4KWH

K4KWH Guest