Crimping Anderson power pole connectors?

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by AC0FP, Aug 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
  1. AC0FP

AC0FP Ham Member QRZ Page

Do Anderson power pole connectors require a special crimping tool or will any standard crimp tool work? I didn't want to buy the connectors and then find out a special tool was required to install them!

Thanks,

fp :)

2. KW2P

KW2P Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been buying them in big bags, and using them for 16 years, and always solder them. Everyone I've ever known to use them also solders them. I'm not even sure if they are crimpable but I'd be interested to know--although I'll still solder them. :)

3. K0CMH

K0CMH Ham Member QRZ Page

Unfortunately, to do the crimping properly, the only tool available is the one made by the power pole manufacturer, and that is not cheap, last I saw was over $50.00. If you do a search for companies that sell power poles, there is a combination cutter/crimping tool that sells for about $18.00. However, it does not crimp nearly as well as the factory tool. The factory tool is built so that the clip fits perfectly into a grove (i.e., registration) , and then it crimps the entire length of the tube. The cheaper tool has no registration ability and only cimps about 1/3 the length of the tube. I have the cheap tool and I have to "eyeball" it, using two crimps, to get a crimp that is almost the entire length of the tube. But then, sometimes my eyeball is off and I ruin a clip.

Then there are the really cheap ($5.00) crimping tools that have about 5 or more sizes that they fit. Sometimes you can find one that will crimp as well as (or as bad as) the $18.00 tool, but it is hit and miss.