Convince me I need a straight key.

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by W4WVW, May 24, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. W4WVW

W4WVW Ham Member QRZ Page

I have not used a straight key since I was a novice in the 60s. I use a BY-1 and keyer these days but I'm thinking of going SK for portable use and just plain fun. I'm open for suggestions but I would like to keep any contenders under $50 if that's reasonable so no Vibroplex or the like. Come twist my arm! :D

2. AA0RI

AA0RI Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

1. Nostalgia, 2. You haven't had a sore wrist in a long time and miss it, 3. You can Join SKCC and rack up the contact points!

WN1MB, NE1U, K6MAA and 4 others like this.
  3. K5UNX

K5UNX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I took CW Ops classes, 1 & 2 before their re-org, and thought I didn't need a straight key. But I won one in a club raffle, cleaned it up, and mounted it on a board and finally made a contact with it. I also joined SKCC and my plan is to participate in their activities so I can get better at working CW. I why not have a key along with paddles? I also figured out how to connect the to the radio at the same time so I can use whatever I want.

4. W4WVW

W4WVW Ham Member QRZ Page

5. W5WTH

W5WTH Ham Member QRZ Page

You kinda mentioned it in your post:
    It's just fun and a different skill. I like SKCC so I tend to like straight keys. The investment is so minimal that even if you decided you hated straight keys your out almost nothing. I like my Viking better, but for the price US Morse 3D Printed keys work well for me.
    https://cwmorse.us/product/red-micro-morse-code-key-aluminum-base/

WN1MB likes this.
  6. K7KBN

K7KBN Ham Member QRZ Page