Control a TIP121 used as a relay switch from 5V and 12V??

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by 2E0ILY, Dec 6, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: l-assoc
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
  1. 2E0ILY

2E0ILY Ham Member QRZ Page

I have a TIP121 Darlington used to control a 12V relay from an output pin of an ATMEGA328. I now also want to switch the TIP from 12V. The base has a 1K resistor in series, can I choose a value to accept 5V from the ATMEGA and 12v from the 20mA limited12V output of my transceiver PTT safely and saturate it? Thanks.

Needless to say I am new to this.... ;)

2. AI3V

AI3V Ham Member QRZ Page

You should be fine with the 1k, it's not a critical value at all.

What I do is divide the load I by the transistor gain and make sure I have at least maybe twice the needed base I.
    More base I won't hurt :)

Rege

3. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

@2E0ILY

Is not the PTT circuit in the radio such that it has 12V on the PTT line when the radio is in receive mode, and 0V on the PTT line when the radio is keyed?

If so, then you would have to use inverted logic with respect to the base of the Darlington; the Darlington will be on during receive (base current), and will be off during transmit (no base current).

It would be trivial to invert the ATMEGA output pin logic in order to create the required OR function: the Darlington is turned off either when the PTT line is low or when the ATMEGA pin is low.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    K6CLS likes this.
  4. WA7ARK

WA7ARK Ham Member QRZ Page

Snipped from the TIP121 data sheet:
    cg.png

Since the gain of a Darlington is ~1000, if it was switching 0.5A, its base current to saturate it would need to be 0.5mA. The base to emitter voltage is ~2.5V, so if being driven from a 12V source, the base resistor needs to be R=E/I = (12-2.5)V/0.5mA = 19K Ohms or lower.