Contests

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by M6LIY, Mar 16, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. M6LIY

M6LIY Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi, just wanted to know about contests, as a fairly new operator I here these contests now and again and join in the best I can. If somebody logs me can i call this a log on my qrz log book. Many thanks m6liy

N4NYK and KK5JY like this.
  2. W7UUU

W7UUU Super Moderator Lifetime Member 133 Administrator Volunteer Moderator Platinum Subscriber Life Member QRZ Page

ABSOLUTELY!!! You bet - a contest contact is a contact like any other as far as "counting for things". Just as long as it gets confirmed by the other party. Contesting is a TERRIFIC way to get new entities - new DX for your DXCC, new states for your W.A.S., new Japan stations for your Worked All Japan, etc. You do NOT need to submit a "contest log" if you don't want to. It's courteous if you do, but not required.

But a good rule of thumb (at least in my view) is to work at least 10 stations in every contest that you do NOT submit a contest log. That way the contest logging scanning software won't toss your call points out for some station you worked but you didn't submit a log. Those are called 'uniques' and can cause contesters to lose points. But if you work at least 10 stations, the software scanning the submitted logs will see you in multiple logs and the points will count

I do this all the time.

Have fun :)

Dave
    W7UUU

WU8Y likes this.
  3. M6LIY

M6LIY Ham Member QRZ Page

Many thanks for your reply , you've been very helpful. There is so much to learn in this great hobby. From Howard. M6liy

4. WA7PRC

WA7PRC Ham Member QRZ Page