ad: Mountaingoat-1

Contesting On Ham Radio

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by VE3II, Oct 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
  1. VE3II

VE3II XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Contesting On Ham Radio

I appreciate that this is a very old debate and a tender point for the majority of amateurs today.  The issue that I want you to consider is not whether contesting has a place in amateur radio but rather how contesting effects non-contest stations.  I want you to also consider if there is a compromise that could be reached by the contest sponsors, namely CQ magazine and the ARRL.  

First, let me say that I am by no means anti-contest.  I have participated in the Field Day Contest since before I was a licenced amateur, some 32 years ago, but that’s another story.  I have certificates on my walls from contests in which I have participated and I continue to contest from time to time.  In my opinion, contests are as much a part of amateur radio as rag chewing and the National Traffic System.  

The purpose of this article is to attempt to effect a change in the way that the contests are structured, so that all amateurs, on all bands, can co-exist during a contest weekend.  

After a contest weekend, CQ Magazine or the ARRL must get flooded with complaints about some guy causing QRM on a frequency or about the way a contest participant was operating and how broad he was.  The contest sponsors admit that they get a lot of complaints but the same thing happens again after the next major contest.  I would think that after the number of years that the sponsors have been holding these contests, they might begin to recognize a pattern and take some action.  However, nothing ever happens and the arrogance and flagrant operating by some contesters continues.