Considering for the first time, flexradio SDR radio...

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by VE3GZB, Nov 17, 2015.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. VE3GZB

VE3GZB Ham Member QRZ Page

My "local" radio store has some Flexradios on demo and they seem nice.

But I'm not sure whether I should get a used Flexradio such as a 3000 or 5000, or should I go wholehog and get the 6300?

My ham activities consist of DX chasing on SSB on 20 meters and shorter wavelengths and I'm just getting into digital modes now. I don't work any VHF or use FM.

I live in a high QRM urban area where outdoor antennas are not permitted so I'm getting by with an attic fan dipole connected to an automatic tuner mounted in the attic. I'm presently using an FTdx3000 with good results but I'm interested in improving things more.

Background QRM on a good day in my QTH can be S9.

For these conditions which SDR radio would work best? Would the 6300 still be a best choice? Or would a good used 3000 or 5000 be good?

73s.

2. N8MSA

N8MSA Ham Member QRZ Page

Based on what you wrote, the Signature Series 6300 has three big advantages over the 5000 and 3000:

- The Signature Series DAX (Digital Audio eXchange), used for radio/PC audio connectivity, is ideal for digital modes and is vastly superior to the the 3rd-party utilities needed for the 3K/5K.
    - Noise mitigation, while not best-in-class, is already better than the 3K/5K and continues to improve with every major release, which brings us to...
    - The Signature Series SmartSDR OS and GUI are under development, where the 3K/5K are end-of-life(d) and the last update to the PC software (PowerSDR) was over 1.5 years ago:
    http://www.flexradio.com/downloads/powersdr_v2-7-2_release_notes-pdf/