ad: DukeCity-1

Connecting 450D to PC

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by VK2FATE, May 17, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-assoc
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. VK2FATE

VK2FATE New Member QRZ Page

Hello I am Bill, VK2FATE.
    I am studying to upgrade my licence to be able to use digital modes. In the meantime, I want to connect my Yaesu 450D to my laptop. I would like to be able to experiment with rig control, and learn about receiving digital modes.
    If it helps to know my laptop, search 'ROG GL552j'.
    I'm a bit confused with getting the connection right, and would greatly appreciate any help.

I believe I need a "9 pin (RS-232?) female to USB. (straight?)" cable for the rig control.
    As for the data cable, I'm not sure. Is it just a '6 pin data to USB' cable also?
    What about audio cables, I assume that comes in somewhere also.
    If you could include a link to purchase the cables (ship to Australia), it would be great to make sure I'm getting the right thing. ( purchased one cheap rs-232 to USB off amazon but it I cant seem to get it to work with PCC-450 or HamRadioDeulux. Assume its not the right type of cable)

Would I need something such as signalink in order to do this? If a combination of cables alone works fine, great. If not, I'm happy to purchase an external device to get my connection right.

Thank you!

2. W9GB

W9GB Ham Member QRZ Page

Common Error for Novices to Amateur Radio with CAT and Digital Modes

Computer Control of your Radio (Yaesu CAT, Icom CI-V, Kenwood remote serial) only works with modern amateur radio transceivers (1980s or later) that have internal micro-processors. The computer control is “remote control operation” (frequency control, mode, etc.) of that processor.