Canada callsign -- how to mitigate CW requirement

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by K3RW, Oct 13, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
  1. K3RW

K3RW Ham Member QRZ Page

Any Canada VEs on QRZ?

I'm an Extra class operator (2015) and looking to operate in Canada from time to time. Looks like no problem getting a Basic license in Canada, but I can't do a lot of things that I planned on.

Supposedly we would convert to the equivalent class in Canada, if not for a 5wpm morse code requirement. So even at an Extra class level, I revert to Canada's Basic class. Had I been an Advanced class, then perhaps that would be different.

From RAC:

A US Amateur who is qualified to send and receive in Morse code at a speed of at least 5 wpm may operate an Amateur station in Canada in accordance with the provisions applicable to the holder of an Amateur Operator's Certificate with Basic, Morse Code (5 wpm) and Advanced Qualifications. A US amateur who is not qualified to send and receive in Morse code may operate an Amateur station in Canada in accordance with provisions applicable to the holder of the Amateur Operator's Certificate with Basic Qualifications.

Well, US hams have no send and receive CW tests anymore. So I'm trying to figure out how to meet this 5wpm equirement and get the higher class license.

I looked at the ARRL page and it does have a CW proficiency test, but its copy-only. Hmm. I asked Industry Canada if that would work (I doubt it).

Is the solution to find a VEC in Canada, and send/receive 5wpm? Go to an Industry Canada office?

This question popped up in 2012 on QRZ, but the thread is now closed--looks like no one pursued it further.

I sent a message to Industry Canada, and I'll update the thread if/when they respond. Curious if anyone in the no-code license dilemma has figured this one out. Hey, at least its 5wpm and not 20!

2. ND6M

ND6M Ham Member QRZ Page