ad: chuckmartin

Call sign change for Extra Class

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by KJ6HYC, Sep 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KJ6HYC

KJ6HYC Ham Member QRZ Page

My first post. I'm new to ham radio, (May 2010). I have the Extra Class ticket, I took all 3 tests within a week. I currently have a 2X1X3 call sign. I have noticed that on "RadioQTH" their are various "Vanity" 1X2, 2X1, 2X2, 1X3, 2X3, call signs. My questions is, what do these "say" or give you? Do they say to the community? That you are a extra class? Any thing else? Is the fee for the vanity a one time charge or a yearly charge?
    Thanks in advance for your help. :D

Wayne KJ6HYC

2. WB2B

WB2B Ham Member QRZ Page

I'd suggest going w/ a sequential assignment. I grabbed a 2x1 call. It happened to be from a well known ham, at least at the regional level. The other problem you may have w/ a reused call is that 'you' may already be in someone else's log. It can cause some confusion.

If I were to do it again, I'd go w/ a 2x1 or 1x2 sequential if any are available.

3. W5RB

W5RB Guest

The best single site for learning about callsigns , including vanities , is
    http://www.vanityhq.com . All the info is free there . Read the FAQ and the Tutorial first.

As an Extra , you could request a sequential 2x2 at no cost . A vanity call currently costs $13.30 for a 10-year term . 2x2s are only available to Advanced and Extra licensees , so there's some prestige involved . 2x1s and 1x2s , and certain 2x2s , are for Extras only .

People get vanity calls for many reasons , not all of them vain . Sometimes they replace a call that was hard to understand , or sometimes they are a way to honor a family member or friend . Don't rush . Take your time and learn more , then decide what you'd like to do .

Russ , W5RB

4. KJ6HYC