Browning Golden Eagle Mark IV

Discussion in '"Boat Anchor" & Classic Equipment' started by WELLINGGO, Mar 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
  1. WELLINGGO

WELLINGGO QRZ Member

By chance, I picked up a Browning Golden Eagle Mark IV (in mint condition and in its original box). I am a complete newbie to this activity but, when I saw the deal on the radio, I figured I might as well give it a try or flip the radio to some one who can put it to better use.

Just for context, I'll throw in some background.

I can remember as a kid (early-mid 70s), fishing in Northern New England and having a cheap CB radio in my dad's truck (I bet the radio is still in his basement). One of the guys we fished with was a dispatcher (of sorts) for a paper company (keeping track of their trucks, skidders, etc. across 100k+ sqmi of territory. He had this cool looking radio and big microphone on the table in his home office. I think it was a Browning but, I don't know exactly what it was (wasn't CB). He would also use it to keep tabs on a couple of fishing camps that were a good 20 miles or more off the paved road. I have also spent lots of time in and around Laconia so, I like the local connection (to the Browning history).