Broadcast Audio limiter/compressor in audio chain for newbie

Discussion in 'Amplitude Modulation' started by KD6CXW, Jul 28, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. KD6CXW

KD6CXW Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to AM and heavy metal. Been reading a lot and understand that a BC transmitter needs the audio limited and compressed .
    I'm in process of acquiring a Bauer 707 and will need a limiter/compressor.
    was wondering if a Behringer DSP 8024 and a vx 2000 would do the trick ?
    already have the dsp 8024 and the person whom has the Bauer has the vx 2000 .
    will post when the Bauer is home and status of unit.
    would like input whats available at reasonable price.
    thanks
    John

2. KA0HCP

KA0HCP XML Subscriber QRZ Page

3. W2VW

W2VW Ham Member QRZ Page

The 8024 works fine. Eventually several electrolytics will fail and make the unit appear like it's bricked at boot. They are easy to repair.

The VX-2000 is a nice all in one concept but it's compression pumps and causes more problems than it solves.

4. AC0OB

AC0OB Subscriber QRZ Page

I assume the Bauer has been converted to 160m and or 80m?

My philosophy is to place as little processing as possible between the transmitter and the source so as to not "color" the audio to any extent.

The better AGC/limiter box in my view is the Inovonics 222 with the NRSC and the Low-Pass functions set to ON.

You will need a microphone amplifier to increase the audio level for subsequent processing. There are currently some Rane MS1S mic amps available on ebay.

Rane has a decent write up here wrt mic preamps:

https://www.rane.com/note148.html

If you're into homebuilding circuits I have some mic preamp circuits (both tube and SS) I'd be willing to send you or you can google "microphone preamplifier circuits, " or see the writeup for balanced mic preamps at:

http://www.thatcorp.com/datashts/AES129_Designing_Mic_Preamps.pdf

Pheel