BLT+

Discussion in 'QRP Corner' started by AA4OO, Mar 25, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. AA4OO

AA4OO Ham Member QRZ Page

Bacon Lettuce and Tomato... or is that Balanced Line Tuner?
    • Matches balanced loads without the use of lossy baluns.
    • Being a parallel resonant circuit, the Z-match can provide some band-pass filtering for your receiver and harmonic attenuation for your transmitter.
    • A well-designed Z-match tuner has a high Q and is more efficient (less lossy) than other types of tuners.
    • The fixed inductor simplifies construction (no taps or rollers needed).
    http://www.hamradioqrp.com/2016/03/blt-balanced-line-tuner-at-excalibur.html

[​IMG]

KC8VWM likes this.
  2. KB4MNG

KB4MNG Ham Member QRZ Page

Very interesting. Would this perform better than the kx3 on board tuner?

3. AA4OO

I prefix all this with the fact that I am still learning about this stuff and I'm conveying what I've learned from QRP hams I trust rather than "internet wisdom".

The BLT+ tuner doesn't have the tuning range of the KX3. So don't expect it to tune an iron skillet like a KX3 will.

The issue is the use of a balun with a Doublet as a multi-band antenna.

When you use a balun with a Doublet antenna ahead of the tuner there can be a lot of loss due to the large impedances present. I don't know how much loss, but I've measured my own Elecraft balun heating up more than 10 deg F over ambient when used with a Doublet at QRP output levels.

The BLT doesn't use a balun but rather a center tapped coil inductor. For reasons I don't understand (I'm still learning) that tapped coil inductor has far less loss than a balun but due to the center tap it expects a balanced input.