Bleeding off static from a vertical

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by K3RW, Jan 6, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. K3RW

K3RW Ham Member QRZ Page

I read an article about the downside of the Hustler series verticals (5BTV, etc.) in that they don't have a way to bleed off static from wind loading. I'm new to the vertical world and didn't know this was one reason that some verticals are noisy. I also have a telescoping whip (17') on a Wolf River coil on a portable base--I suppose this may also be susceptible.

I read a few different techniques about placing resistors in line, etc., but I didn't get a handle for any specific technique, and even the value of the resistors seemed to be widely in conflict between several articles (10k to 1M). I'd like an effective and simple way to do it, if possible.

So, in layman's terms (please), how much of a problem is wind-induced static on a vertical, and are there suggested ways to bleed it off? Is it more of a problem for receiving, or transmitting as well?

Also, I wondered if it is a problem for verticals, is it potentially a problem for dipoles and yagis as well?

2. KW1K

KW1K Ham Member QRZ Page

If you are worried, just add an RF choke to ground.

KK5JY and K3RW like this.
  3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

True, but whether it's an RF choke or a resistor (either will work) it must be rated to handle the voltage across the feedpoint so it doesn't flash over.

A typical carbon resistor is only rated 300Vdc, and in many cases that's not good enough. A "transmitting" type RF choke with a longish winding should be fine. A couple of resistors in series to stretch out the terminations should also be fine.

I use a 1mH transmitting type choke with multiple windings to avoid resonance, about 2" long and it handles a kilowatt across a 50 Ohm antenna (even with a 3:1 VSWR at band edges) fine.