Black Oxygen

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by KM6WTJ, Nov 16, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: l-assoc
  1. KM6WTJ

KM6WTJ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello Everyone,

My name is Ron, and I am a Brand New Ham Technician Operator. I have not
    purchased my Handheld Radio yet. I plan on acquiring it next week. Needless
    to say, I have a lot to learn. Any guidance and/or assistance will be appreciated.

Ron

KC5AKB likes this.
  2. W7UUU

W7UUU QRZ Lifetime Member #133 Volunteer Moderator Life Member Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Welcome to Amateur Radio, Ron!

Maybe explain what it is you want to do with amateur radio. How do you envision using your new radio? Do you have a specific radio in mind already? or just looking for suggestions... knowing what you'd like to accomplish is the first step in us helping you. And if you've not picked one out yet, what is your budget? What bands of interest? What is your general "technical level" regarding programming things?

Oh, and what is the meaning of the subject line, "Black Oxygen"? I don't know that term

Welcome aboard!! It's a wonderful hobby I've enjoyed for over 43 years now and glad to have you be a part of it :)

Dave
    W7UUU

KI4AX likes this.
  3. K2CAJ

K2CAJ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Congratulations on your Ham ticket.

I think your first steps may be connecting with a local club, and, once you buy a handheld, finding a net on a local repeater. There's a lot of facets to amateur radio, and you may find your interests evolving over time---I started out interested in VHF and quickly became addicted to long-distance contacts on HF---so it may not be easy to decide exactly what you want out of the hobby, or out of a handheld.