Best Linux Ham Radio Software for 2018

Discussion in 'Rig Control, Propagation, Cluster, & Other Softwar' started by W5KUL, Jul 13, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: l-assoc
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
  1. W5KUL

W5KUL Ham Member QRZ Page

I would like to know the forum's opinion on what is the best Linux suite of Ham Radio software tools, packages, OS, etc.

I see KB1OIQ - Andy's Ham Radio Linux was last updated on 2017-11-26 has been highlighted in the past as a great package.

I realize many use HRD but that is windows only, and as a builder, I really want to use Linux tools for my shack - as much as HRD seems like a really nice package. As I have several old computers that will/are running Linux and those are what I want to use.

Thanks in advance!

2. N5AVF

N5AVF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Have you looked at the Skywave Linux distro? https://skywavelinux.com/

Core is Ubuntu 16.04. I tried it some time ago with an SDRPlay RSP2 connected to an old laptop I have. Worked fine.

If I ever need another project, I may try it again.

W5KUL likes this.
  3. W5KUL

Thanks N5AVF! Much appreciated.

4. K3DCW

K3DCW QRZ Lifetime Member #212 Life Member Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I'd look at either Ubuntu or LinuxMint as your base and the entire Fl* suite (Fldigi, Flrig, etc) for digital modes and the like as my foundation. CQRLog is a great all-around logger, and WSJT-X for the JT/FT modes. There are a few other programs you can probably add on depending upon your interests, but this collection above would cover 99% of what you would be interested in. The weak spot would be contesting, but there are solutions for that as well (including using Fldigi in contest mode even for SSB contests -- it works acceptably well).