Best 2 Meter Coax?

Discussion in 'Youth Forum' started by KJ4HPV, Nov 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KJ4HPV

KJ4HPV QRZ Member

Okay, so which type of coax is the best for 2 meter? The way my antenna is set up, I need to use about 25 feet of coax from my Radio to antenna. Should I look a RG8X for $.29 a foot, or RG213 for $.79 cents a foot, or should I just hop down to Radio Shack and pick up 20 feet of already assembled RG58 for $10.99? I am new to HAM, and Have a Diamond CP22E 2m vertical, and a Yaesu FT-2800, set up as a base radio, but I can't use it because I have no coax, and don't know which I should get. :)
    73's
    Brady KJ4HPV

2. KD8DEY

KD8DEY Ham Member QRZ Page

Grab the lowest loss coax that you feel comfortable in purchasing.
    A lot of people have posted negative remarks on radio shack coax.
    some people like using the small diameter stuff depending oh how they are feeding it into the house. I'm using lmr-240 ultra flex from universal radio.

3. KD8EPC

KD8EPC Ham Member QRZ Page

i would go with at least rg8x i use both rg8 and rg213 ( i have multiple 2 meter antennas) so i owuld recommend some rg8 or 213 but rg8x would be fine. hope this helps welcome to amateur radio . if you need help with anything i cna give advice and such . my email is kd8epc@arrl.net

73 ,

Dustin KD8EPC

4. KC2PMW

KC2PMW Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi,

Belden 9913 is the coax I use. It is about the same size as RG8 and is an excellent performer on VHF/UHF. Hope this is useful.

5. KT4HX

KT4HX Ham Member QRZ Page