Been a long time coming...

Discussion in 'Straight Keys - CW Enthusiasts' started by M0KBO, Jan 6, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. M0KBO

M0KBO Ham Member QRZ Page

Yesterday, finally got my first 'proper' CW QSO.

With shaking hands on the paddle I answered DR10CWO's CQ on 20m and got a response!

Was I perfect? Far from it. Did I stick to my little pre prepared QSO sheet I made? Nope! Was it fun? Tons!!!! But they received what I sent, slowed down loads for me and were very patient with the newbie.

Even responded to my humble email I sent explaining that I was a newbie and not a lid.

Kudos to them!

N7BKV, N2OTG, WB5YUZ and 13 others like this.
  2. K7MEM

K7MEM Ham Member QRZ Page

20 or 30 years ago, I was on 40 meters (old Novice CW area). The band was dead. I couldn't hear a single CW signal. I gave a few CQs, but couldn't get any response. Then I heard a nice clean CW signal, sending fairly slow. I copied the signal for a few minutes and was surprised at what I heard. The op wasn't sending a CQ, he was sending "hello is anyone out there can anyone hear me?" followed by his call sign. So I waited for the op to pause and gave him a call. You could tell he was excited, by the shakiness in his sending. It turned out that this was his first contact. After about 5 minutes he had to sign because he was exhausted.

In the early 80s I operated in Germany a DA2EU. My rig was "CW Only". Most of my operation was early evening and I found that 15 meters (21.100 - 21.150 MHz) was a great band to use. Every night the band was packed. 15 meters was usually open to all of England, Europe, Asia, and Africa until the sun went down. Propagation has surely changed a lot since then, but it's a good band to try.

M0KBO likes this.
  3. KN4YHP

KN4YHP Ham Member QRZ Page