Becoming a DXpedition team member.

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by ON6KE, Nov 14, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-rfparts
  1. ON6KE

ON6KE Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi everyone,
    I every now and then wonder how one can best become a DXpedition team member.

I'm an OK CW operator but not good enough to operate CW hour after hour for days in gone mad pileups.
    So what's left is taking part as an SSB or digi operator.
    The financial aspects that come with taking part in a DXpedition are not an issue for me.

Is it you're part or not part of the inner circle when it comes to putting together the list of operators or are there other criteria beyond being an able operator and letting know you're there to take part in worthwhile expeditions?

Regards
    Gust ON6KE ON7QRP

2. W3WN

W3WN Ham Member QRZ Page

Gust,

When you hear about a major DXpedition being out together (which does not happen on the fly or overnight), contact the organizers and express your interest.

In the meantime, go on some “solo” small trips to get your feet wet, so to speak, and gain some experience.

W7UUU likes this.
  3. W1VT

W1VT Ham Member QRZ Page

Doctors are in high demand.

These days, the ability to configure software settings is also highly valued, as is the ability to upload logs under difficult conditions. A recent operation was down to one operator while the other operator went into town to upload the logs.

Even the best operators and software is worthless if the hardware fails or is installed incorrectly. Lots of people can operate under difficult conditions. Not many can fix stuff under difficult conditions.

4. W6OGC

W6OGC Ham Member QRZ Page

You should have a reputation as a very good operator, who can hold up in adverse conditions, contribute to the non operating workload, get along with other team members, tenacious, physically fit, thrifty, clean, brave and reverent.