BAOFENG 997-S

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Equipment Reviews' started by KC2WHV, Oct 21, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KC2WHV

KC2WHV Ham Member QRZ Page

Newbie here. Just picked up a BAOFENG 997-S 2 meter/70cm hand held, and have torn out almost what hair I have left trying to figure out the menu programming and data entry (CTCSS tones, +/- offset, etc. let alone the repeater frequency) from what passes for an owner's manual. The small size appeals to me because I travel.

Has anyone here downloaded drivers from the BAOFENG site? I'm thinking that is the way to go, while I am waiting for my programming cable (the official one, not a clone, with the drivers on a CD-ROM).

I'm fortunate to live about 1.5 miles from a 2 meter repeater that lights up with five bars. I can hear the ID and offset automated announcements from the repeater on 147.255. It picks up NOAA and our local sheriff's office main quite well.

I realize the BAOFENG is not a KENWOOD THF-6A. But I want to make all my mistakes on the 39 dollar radio, rather than the 300 dollar KENWOOD.

What are some of the best practices I should be following?

2. ND5Y

ND5Y Ham Member QRZ Page

As far as I know the 997-S is a cosmetic variation of the UV-5R series.
    Start by reading everything on http://www.miklor.com. You can find answers to all your programming questions there.

What OS is on the computer you plan to use for programming?
    If you bought a more expensive cable that doesn't have the counterfiet Prolific chip in it you should not need to download drivers.
    Most people use CHIRP programming software http://chirp.danplanet.com instead of the Baofeng factory software.

3. KC1CQC

KC1CQC Ham Member QRZ Page

If you want to get talking before your cable arrives, just search YouTube for a video about programming without the cable.