ad: TiltPlate-1

Band / MHz Relationships

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by DIK909, Oct 9, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: K3QNTad-1
ad: l-gcopper
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-rfparts
  1. DIK909

DIK909 QRZ Member

Greetings, all. :)

I am relatively new to Amateur Radio, and am currently studying for my Technician/General license(s). It's one thing to simply memorize the correct answers, which I've been doing, but I want to fully understand what I'm memorizing.

Thusly: What exactly is the relationship between bands and Megahertz ? One is wavelength, and the other is cycles, yes ? Cycles of what ? Cycles = frequency ? Frequency of what ? How do hertz frequency cycles "fit into" wavelength bands ?

If you can offer any resources or clarification on this, I would be most appreciative.

All the best,
    JD

2. WA7PRC

WA7PRC Ham Member QRZ Page

The "frequency" refers to the repeating alternating current waveform. Wavelength and frequency have an inverse relationship... the higher the frequency, the shorter the wavelength and vice versa. In free space...

Wavelength (meters) = 300 / FMHz
    Wavelength (feet) = 984/ FMHz

From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wavelength:

"In linear media, any wave pattern can be described in terms of the independent propagation of sinusoidal components. The wavelength λ of a sinusoidal waveform traveling at constant speed v is given by
    [​IMG]

where v is called the phase speed (magnitude of the phase velocity) of the wave and f is the wave's frequency. In a dispersive medium, the phase speed itself depends upon the frequency of the wave, making the relationship between wavelength and frequency nonlinear.