ad: cq2k-1

AZ / EL Alignment Questions...

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by N8NMG, Oct 15, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. N8NMG

N8NMG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello all,
    1st I am a mostly total nOOb on HamSats. I did read a bunch of articles from AMSAT about LEO Sats, Oscars, etc. So I decided to score an Elk antenna and do SO-50. That went okay! Then I decided to do a full blown AZ /EL setup.

One day at a "trunk fest" I scored a pair of cross polarized beam antennas for HamSats. One is 2m the other is 70cm and the price tag was perfect for both. Photo is on my page at https://www.qrz.com/db/n8nmg

Slowly I acquired all the bits and pieces... ICOM IC-970A, Track Box, AZ/EL rotors, mast, boom, cables, and poof after many hours I have a working AZ / EL setup. It tracks, and doppler shifts as expected. However I am having some strange results with my alignment. I found out my compass is a great paperweight, and that's about it. I know how to do Land Navigation quite well after several years in the service, and this compass will indeed get you lost or worse. Name brand compass is on order, compass like paperweight destined for the dumpster.

So my AZ / EL alignment questions...
    1. Polar Alignment - anyone have success with nailing both Azimuth and Elevation alignment with the North Star? If so how did you do it? I was thinking of using a rifle scope and zip ties / duct tape / bubble gum... something.
    2. Azimuth alignment - anyone have success nailing true north with a lensatic / magnetic compass? If so what was your technique?
    3. Elevation alignment - anyone have success nailing horizontal zero degrees / vertical 90 degrees? How? Bubble levels?
    4. Solar / Lunar alignment - ever try it? Did it work?
    5. What about EME? Any special alignment tips / tricks / hints?