ad: Mircules-1

Arrow antenna w/duplexer and TH-D72

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by K9IR, Jul 6, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
  1. K9IR

K9IR Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm totally new to amateur satellites and just started practicing tracking them on RX before I try for QSOs. I own an Arrow dual band portable antenna with the duplexer. My understanding was that I would need the duplexer if I used the antenna with an HT that doesn't have a built-in duplexer, e.g., Yaesu VX5-R.

I have since acquired a TH-D72. Can I use the TH-D72 with the Arrow antenna without any changes to the antenna -- in other words, with the antenna's duplexer inline?

I expected I would need somehow to remove/bypass the antenna duplexer and use the D72's own duplexer, but then I read this on the Arrow website:

"Q. I have a Full Duplex, Dual Band Radio with a built in duplexer, why do I need another Duplexer ?
    A. That is why, Your Radio only has one Connector, the Antenna has two. (1 for VHF & 1 for UHF)
    The 10WDuplexer allows you to hear the down link while you are transmitting.
    It also has the coax cables to connect your radio to the antenna."

This suggests I can/should use 2 duplexers, which seems....odd.

If in fact I need to remove/bypass the antenna's duplexer to use this antenna with the D72, what is the best way to do so? I've taken the duplexer out and have seen how the coax runs are soldered to the duplexer PC board, just not sure on the best way to consolidate the coax leads from the 2 driven elements to a single feed to the D72 -- without the antenna duplexer in between.

Thanks for any guidance.

73 Paula k9ir

2. N6MST

N6MST Ham Member QRZ Page

Your TH-D72 has one antenna connector. The Arrow has two. You need some external device to manage that. Leave the duplexer in the Arrow. It works great.

3. K3RLD

K3RLD Ham Member QRZ Page