ad: CQMM-1

aprs

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KB5ECV, Dec 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
  1. KB5ECV

KB5ECV Ham Member QRZ Page

Howdy,  i'm still fairly new to aprs and I was wondering why can't it be possible to have the same
    frequencies as europe or atleast a world known accepted vhf freq, and even a couple of satellites
    that use the same frequencies to really open this thing up?  

For "poor" hams like me with one vhf
    rig in the house which is used both as a scanner, qso rig, and for aprs...having to sit and wait to
    switch back and forth to different freqs is a pain just to catch a different satellite and then back
    to 144.39 for local traffic.

I do realize some sats should have a more private frequency for pure satellite operation, but it
    really would be nice if a couple of them were on a world wide frequency to link vhf operations with
    other parts of the world.  Gateways to me just seem to be so limited.

Of course, I think of this more and more now since I moved to Montana and there is absolutley no
    vhf activity where I am at.  If a couple of sats were geostationary or just came around 144.39
    then lots of other isolated folks an me still would have some decent activity.  Aprs on 30m seems
    boring with less then half the stations being active on that band as apposed to vhf, and since I
    have only one hf rig in the house...I don't like tying it up to just hf aprs.

Signed spoiled,

l. allen
    kb5ecv

2. K5MAR

K5MAR Ham Member QRZ Page