APRS Tracking quits

Discussion in 'Homebrew and Kit Projects' started by KD0FRT, Dec 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KD0FRT

KD0FRT Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to the operating of Ham radio but not by far new to radio and electronic hobbies. For some reason I have a sick obsession with building electronic things... And there it is.

Bought an Argent Datasystems OpenTracker+ kit and assembled it, then went in to configure. My GPS solution had not presented itself at that point so I manually set my Long/Lat and selected do not require a fix. Ran into several issues getting my testing radio to operate properly.

Using a RadioShack HTX-202 I bought off ebay for $30 to test this stuff with until I get it perfected then I have an OOOOOLD Kenwood 2m mobile for the perm. install in the selected vehicle. Oddly if I have the OpenTracker module powered up with a very well regulated power supply (I use ATX desktop PC power supply to power my electronic devices, afterall you can't get a WHOLE lot more regulated than those anywhere near the price. The unit Im using is rated 20 amps max @ +12vcd, 30 amps max @ +5vcd.)

If the OpenTracker and HT are both powered by the same Power supply when the tracker keys up the transmitter it introduces a VERY bad hum which sounds similar to a 60hz buzz. Tried several different power supplies to no avail, so I'm just testing it with the battery pack on the HT. No big deal.

Okay, so this sucker sends my data to the APRS network and my icon ends up on the OpenAPRS.com page right away.