Apple Time Capsule powers off when transmitting on 20m ham radio

Discussion in 'General Technical Questions and Answers' started by K3JRZ, Feb 25, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
  1. K3JRZ

K3JRZ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

No bashing of Apple hardware. Thanks. I've also posted this on Apple's Community Forum, so I added some additional amateur radio info for them...

----

I have an AirPort Time Capsule 802.11ac ME177LL/A (2 TB). It's in relative close proximity to my Yaesu FT-991 amateur radio. My radio has been sitting in this position for almost 2 months with 2 antenna wires (one for VHF/UHF and one for HF) running underneath my desk. And I've been transmitting on the 20m band (14MHz) for 2 months fine. No problems.

Until a few days ago when every time I transmitted on the voice part of the band (14.225 MHz to 14.350 MHz for General licensees) my AirPort Time Capsule powers off (transmitting voice by hitting the push to talk [PTT] button on the microphone). It takes unplugging it from the rear and re-inserting the power cord back into for it to power back on. I've been able to repeat this on different frequencies in that range (14.225 MHz to 14.350 MHz). I can transmit fine on every other band and the digital, CW (morse code), and RTTY portions of the 20m band (14.025 MHz to 14.150 MHz) with the radio connected to my iMac with a A/B USB cable.

(Physically, it's not the ideal setup, but living in a townhouse I'm somewhat limited with space, inside and out.)

Like I said, I've had no issues transmitting in the frequency range for 2 months. Nothing has changed. Wiring hasn't changed. Location of anything hasn't changed. The amount of power hasn't changed. No equipment for my radio or computer stuff has changed.

Any ideas???

Thanks.
    ------

FIRST RESPONSE from someone:
    It is a pretty unique problem.