Anyone successfully installed AllStarLink on a Raspberry Pi 4?

Discussion in 'Echolink/IRLP Tech Board' started by AA5JC, May 30, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: QSOToday-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. AA5JC

AA5JC Ham Member QRZ Page

Please visit my original post on Reddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/AllStarlink/comments/gt6u1x/anyone_successfully_installed_allstarlink_on_a/

While I am still learning (who isn't?), I have previously created AllStar nodes on Raspberry Pi 2's and 3's. However, for my current project I want to create an AllStar <-> analog <-> DMR bridge on a Raspberry Pi 4.

Why? Raspberry Pi 3's don't seem to have enough processor to handle running AllStarLink, analog_bridge, MMDVM_bridge, the MD380 emulator, and Monstar all at once. I presume this is true because the AllStar node works perfectly fine... until I enable the other services. After that the Pi just can't keep up - the audio on AllStar (and on DMR) stutters terribly.

So I thought why not try the Pi 4.

The problem I'm running into is when I install allstarlink, at the end of the install process it returns the following message:

Errors were encountered while processing:
    asl-dahdi-linux-dkms
    allstarlink
    asl-dahdi-linux-tools

The Pi 4 I'm using has kernel version 4.19.118-v71+.

Any help you could offer would be appreciated.

2. K5DVT

K5DVT Ham Member QRZ Page

Most people use pre-made images such as ASL or HamVoip, I'm just curious as to why you are installing from source?