Any truck driver hams out there?

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio Systems' started by KG6TOP, Oct 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
  1. KG6TOP

KG6TOP Ham Member QRZ Page

Hey all, I'm looking into setting up a mobile hf rig in my semi truck. I have an IC-7000 radio and I'm planning on getting a little tarheel II antenna in the the near future. My truck is an International pro star with an all steel cab and doors. I'm not too sure but im guessing that would provide a pretty decent rf ground plane? I'm pretty new to the hf side of the hobby so any suggestions would be welcomed. One small problem I have is that being it's a company truck so I cant really do anything too I invasive such as drilling any holes in the body. Thanks and 73 too all!!!

2. WD5GWY

WD5GWY Ham Member QRZ Page

HF mobile in a big rig is fun and frustrating! What year model is that
    International? If it's a very late model, one of the first things you
    may encounter is RFI from your engine's electronic fuel injectors.
    I tried it with a Kenwood TS-50s in a 2007 KW day cab with a
    475 CAT engine. Radio worked fine into an LDG Z-11 PRO Auto Tuner
    and a 102" whip mounted behind the cab. BUT, the electronic fuel injectors
    generated so much noise that on some bands, ( 40 meters the worst) it covered up everything. The Noise blanker didn't do anything. It wasn't even
    as good as my cheap CB's noise blanker! Ferrite beads, extra bonding didn't change a thing.
    I have talked to a couple of truckers that are hams that use the ICOM 7000 and both said the DSP and noise blanker in it eliminated RFI from their
    truck engines. So, I bought a 7000. (it should be here Wednesday!!)
    I would take a magnet and check the cab of your truck to see if it is really
    metal. Some are made from a plastic type of material that it really tough and useless for attaching a ground to.