Antenna Optimization?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KC3IYV, Aug 28, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KC3IYV

KC3IYV Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Hey guys! This is the first time posting to the forum!

I come here as a relatively new ham with a very very basic knowledge of all the science. Having been generally self taught to pass my exams through books and internet info, I'm starting to really second guess some of my knowledge specifically regarding antenna placement efficacy and optimization. Moreover, I think it might be good to get some advice before I start doing anything too dramatic with climbing around my house and putting up anything permanent.

I run a 100w Yaesu FT-450d with a multiband endfed that I've tried a few different ways. Always had great SWR but I'm starting to think that it's not only about SWR.

I've never been able to do much on Phone beyond 2m FM. All my work for DX has been on FT8. Given this space limitation and current solar cycle, is there anyway I can make the best of a not so optimal situation? Is there any antenna config/placement here that'll give me a fighting chance to DX on phone? Most importantly, how wrong am I doing this?

Would love you guys to take a look at some photos of my setup and see what you think. You'll see from the pictures there's a lot of factors and safety considerations I have to deal with given this space:

1. Overhead powerlines and Utilities (propane tank, heating oil tank.)
    2. Relatively tight space between two houses. (I'm the gray house)
    3. The sudden appearance of my neighbors RV
    4. My wife (not pictured.... )