Antenna Grounding Advice

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KJ6EWX, Feb 12, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. KJ6EWX

KJ6EWX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello All,

I am a Tech and am installing my first base station antenna on my newly constructed house. The antenna is a Comet GP-3 and will be mounted on the third floor roof. (I will eventually get my General and somehow install an HF antenna). My radio for now is a Yeasu FT-7900.

First off, I am in Southern California where there is not much ‘weather’ to speak of. Also all of our utilities are underground.

Its a bit of a restricted situation as the area I live in we have no yards, only 3ft walkways on each side of the house (6ft between houses). I have no exposed dirt, all the property is poured cement. My ground rod is located on the back corner of the house, inside the exterior wall which happens to be the garage wall. The garage is also where I will have my radio.

I’ve come up with two ‘routes’ for the coax from the antenna, and 1 route for the ground wire. See the attached drawings. My ground rod is on the opposite side as my antenna location, so I will need to route around the house. I know the route for the ground is a bit convoluted, but I hesitate to run it under the house. Coax Rt#1 follows a railing overhang around the house and down the opposite side. It drops down the outside and goes through the wall to the radio. The ground wire route follows the same path, but drops down in a different location (pic 2). It then goes into the wall and ties in to the ground rod. (If this route is even possible safety speaking). Coax Route #2 would drop down the side of the house, enter a foundation vent, then continue to the garage under neath the house to emerge as needed for the radio.

I appreciate your comments and opinions. Thanks.

View1.jpg

View2.jpg

2. K7TRF

K7TRF Premium Subscriber QRZ Page