ad: hrd-2

Antenna / Garage Friendly

Discussion in 'Mobile Radio' started by NB8F, Nov 11, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: OK1UUad-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. NB8F

NB8F Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I am wanting to setup mobile HF on my Ram 1500. I am familiar with bonding and all that, my big thing is I don't want to store my truck outside. Are there good mounts/antennas/setups that would allow for the antenna to fold before going in the garage? I don't want to mount in the bed as we only have 1 vehicle and we need the tonneau cover.

Thoughts / ideas / suggestions?

Thanks.

2. K5WY

K5WY Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I have zero experience with the various folding mounts, so no help there, but have you considered one of those mounts that slips between the fender and hood for an NMO base?

3. NB8F

I had that before with the tarheel antenna I used in the past. It wasn't my favorite location, but is also still a posibility. I was even trying to think about a quick connect/disconnect so I could put the antenna on when i was going on a long trip and take it off when going around town .

4. WD5IKX

WD5IKX Ham Member QRZ Page

Check out Breedlove mounts.... https://www.breedlovemounts.com/

They have several fold over and mounts for pickups and it is all very high quality.

John WD5IKX / m

WA8FOZ likes this.
  5. NB8F

WD5IKX likes this.
  6. WD5IKX

WD5IKX Ham Member QRZ Page

Mine HF antenna is hardly "garage friendly" so I just leave the back of my 1500 sticking out from the carport. I can take the coil and whip off if I have to go under something really low.

Not gargae friendly.JPG

John WD5IKX / m

7. KB7FSC

KB7FSC XML Subscriber QRZ Page