Antenna/Feedline selection for Mobile Install

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KN4SLJ, Jun 7, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
  1. KN4SLJ

KN4SLJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hey guys. I'm fairly new to the hobby and am planning on relocating my iCom ID-4100 to my truck alongside or in place of my CB. I have a run of Belden RG-8x already running to the front driver side stake hole mount for my 5ft Firestik CB antenna, and enough coax for a separate run to the opposite stake hole if necessary. I know that RG-8x is less than ideal for uhf/vhf use, but in real world use does it make a big enough difference in a 20ft run to matter or is there some other kind of flexible feedline that I should invest in? I also have some LMR-400 but it may be...difficult to do a mobile run with that. If I don't replace the CB, I'd like to mount the dual band antenna on/in the passenger side front stake hole, opposite the Firestik. I would prefer that it be fairly large to get some altitude over the cab of the truck. It's one of the aluminum body F-150s. I read that the aluminum would be a poor groundplane but on 11Meter my SWR is 1.1:1 so I dunno. Maybe it would be more pronounced with UHF/VHF. I was looking at the ~5ft Comet CSB-790A antenna but haven't found any reviews on it and some others don't have kind things to say about the Comet brand in general. I have no experience one way or the other and I was hoping somebody could make a recommendation. I wouldn't mind spending more for higher quality but I don't even know what to look for. I currently have the radio in use as a base station on a Tram 1480 to good effect, but I think I'll just get more use out of it if it's mobile. Now that I've learned about HAM, the shenanigans on 11 Meter makes my skin crawl. One dude was whistling and splattering over 15 channels the other day. I kid you not... Anyway, any thoughts or suggestions on how I shou