An Alien in Texas ...

Discussion in 'Becoming an Amateur Radio Operator/Upgrading Privi' started by PD0JBV, Jan 30, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. PD0JBV

PD0JBV Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello. I am a Dutch Radio Amateur (CEPT Novice) and twice a year i am in Texas Covington where my (grand)kids live. Do i need extra papers besides my Dutch registration card to do some experiments on 20 and 10 meters in Texas? And is it possible for me to apply for a US license based on my Dutch papers, or do i need a new exam? I checked the FCC website but could not find my case.

2. K3UJ

K3UJ Ham Member QRZ Page

You should be able to operate in the US with your Dutch license signing W5/PD0JBV.
    I don't know what frequency privileges you have though.
    See if this page helps: http://www.arrl.org/foreign-licenses-operating-in-u-s

To get a US license you need to take the exams and have a US mailing address.

3. AB3TQ

AB3TQ Subscriber QRZ Page

I know nothing about Dutch to FCC license equivalents. How many different classes of Dutch licensing are there, and where does your Dutch license fit into that mix? If you have the highest level Dutch license (full privileges), you probably also have extensive privileges under CEPT. If your Dutch license is somewhat limited, you might not have any CEPT privileges at all.

If you want an FCC license, as was mentioned, you need to pass the appropriate tests. In order of difficulty they are Technician, General and Amateur Extra. And you do need a US address (your grand kids Texas address would work). They could then forward anything received to you.