Amplifier bypass options?

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by K3HMG, May 1, 2021.

ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
ad: l-BCInc
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. K3HMG

K3HMG Ham Member QRZ Page

Good day all,

I have another rookie question or a couple maybe ;). As you’re reading this some of you most certainly already know that I’m fairly new to the hobby and I am trying to learn as much as I possibly can. I have recently acquired a Heathkit SB 200 amp. That I want to put online in my station. @WB2WIK and many other have been absolutely wonderful offering their time and years of experience in helping me get off and running. I am forever grateful to all who have helped me so far and a future thx to all who will lend their advice in the future. On to my current question(s).

when it comes to the SB 200 I am going to be using a footpedal that will not only key my mic and radio but will also key the amp. I’m using a Heil FS-2 foot switch. My automatic tuner of course is after the amplifier. So if I depress the foot pedal it will key up the amp and radio.

1. If I want to bypass the amp let’s say for allowing the tuner to do its job with out the amp in line or simply if I don’t want or need the power from the amp what are my options?

2. Would placing a simple switch in line on the amp keyer line from the foot pedal work? Or will the amp only pass a TX rf signal when the amp is keyed?

3. Or is something like the MFJ-1705H RF bypass switch needed to accomplish this? If so and the switch is in bypass and I depress the foot switch the amp will still key up. Does that hurt the amplifier to be keyed with no TX rf going into it?

Again thx all for helping!

2. N0NC

N0NC Premium Subscriber QRZ Page