ad: Amateur-1

Ameritron AL-572 Dead

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by KA1KA, Apr 26, 2021.

ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: l-BCInc
  1. KA1KA

KA1KA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I made an "oops" with my AL-572. Tuned 30 meters while band switch was on 40. Stupid. Didn't realize until after it wouldn't tune and the crackling started. Arcing was happening in what sounded like the rear of the amp near the tubes. Then stopped. Now, amp has no power output. Turns on, all tubes glow. When keying, grid current will rise proportionally with power level until it pins the meter. Plate current never moves. No output. I'm an automotive tech not an electronics tech :) I need advice on what to troubleshoot (or where to start) without killing myself in the process. I appreciate any advice in advance. 73, Adam

K0UO likes this.
  2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Does the panel meter indicate presence of high voltage (should be around 2500Vdc or something)?

That would be a pointer to exactly where to start looking for a problem.

Funny part is, driving the amp on 30m with the bandswitch on 40m really should not have caused damage -- I'm trying to think why it would...the tuned input circuits should have created a big mismatch to your transceiver and caused the transceiver to reduce its output to something very low, thus not really "driving" the amp.

"Switching" (turning) the bandswitch while transmitting can cause a lot of problems.

K0UO and KA1KA like this.
  3. KA1KA

Thanks for the reply! Ok yes there is indeed about 2500 VDC on the HV meter. Yeah I definitely didn’t turn the knob mid tune. I attached a photo of the only thing I could see that resembles a burn mark inside.

Attached Files:

4. N0NC

N0NC Premium Subscriber QRZ Page