ad: Flexradio-1

Amazing DX in the time of plague

Discussion in 'General Announcements' started by NH7L, Mar 30, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. NH7L

NH7L XML Subscriber QRZ Page

In this horrible time, hundreds of thousands ... maybe millions ... of hams worldwide are stuck in their homes, unable to carry on normal lives. How can this global calamity have an up side?

Answer: with exceptional DX. Band conditions are mostly not good right now, but there probably are more amateur radio stations on the air during this horror than even during the bigger contests. MANY more.

I operate a pipsqueak station, limited by circumstances to low power and even lower (and smaller) antenna. In the last 24 hours of more or less continual data-mode operation (mainly FT8 on 20 and 40 meters), my country count is more than double what it usually is. I'm pulling in stations on literally every continent, something I have never done before with my present extremely compromised station at this QTH.

If you haven't fired up your rig, and you are able to, this is the time. Check it out.

And try to stay home and stay healthy. 73 de NH7L.

KS2G and KQ9J like this.
  2. F5VHZ

F5VHZ Ham Member QRZ Page

WELL SAID This is a harrowing time, but radio will help many keep occupied and up to date with useful information.
    Even the Prime Minister and UK Health Minister have contracted the virus by being absolute MORONS, and not wearing masks in public was the height of stupidity to the point of being criminal. DO NOT GO OUT WITHOUT WEARING A MASK