ad: ARR

Am I in the Minority or Misunderstood?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KM6CND, Jul 10, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
  1. KM6CND

KM6CND Ham Member QRZ Page

I have had my Call Sign for about 5 years, so I consider myself a Toddler of the hobby.

As I studied for the Tech exam, I recall, "all you need to know is your own call sign when ending a QSO"

Something like "73 my friend, Kilo Mike Six, Charlie November Delta".

I do not end it with "73 my friend, Wiskey Alpha three Zulu, Kilo Mike Six, Charlie November Delta". If I am required to end a QSO this way, I must have missed that chapter in the study guide.

Is it wrong to acknowledge to Call Sign of the person I'm about to end my QSO with? I don't think so, I just don't roll that way and the biggest "offenders" (if there is such an offense) are those that got their Call Sign's shortly after God got his!

Has there been a Cultural Ham Shift over the past decades?

2. NN4RH

NN4RH Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

The only thing that is required is to identify yourself. It was sort of the standard etiquette when I first licensed to also give the call sign of the other station(s)too but it is not required.

VK6APZ, K3KIC, KC2SIZ and 7 others like this.
  3. K7JEM

K7JEM Ham Member QRZ Page

It used to be the rule, decades ago, that you had to give the callsign of the person you were talking to. It's not wrong to do it today, but it is not required. Many people consider it good practice.

VK6APZ, K3KIC, W0AQ and 6 others like this.
  4. NL7W

NL7W Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Both of the above are good answers.

VK6APZ, K3KIC, K9ASE and 7 others like this.
  5. WA9SVD

WA9SVD Ham Member QRZ Page

You DO have to use YOUR call sign, AND the call sign of the other station when in communication with the station of another nation (FCC rule/requirement.) Otherwise, you do not have to give the other op's call; just your own.

6. WA9SVD