ad: NI4L-2

Almost embarrassed to be a amateur radio operator

Discussion in 'Ham Radio Discussions' started by KG5TED, Sep 12, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-rfparts
ad: l-gcopper
ad: Subscribe
  1. KG5TED

KG5TED XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I have been a Licensed amateur operator for about three and a half years, so this might be my own ignorance. To let you know a little about me and my equipment. I can work HF, DSTAR, DMR, and Fusion. Living on the Central gulf coast one reason I Got Into amateur Radio is to use during hurricanes. Well, being in between the last two hurricanes I searched for DMR talk groups, DSTAR reflectors and really couldn't find anything. But then, using equipment everyone has access to, smart phone, I downloaded Zello and can find anything I want. IMHO, this is almost embarrassment for amateur radio Community. You might say, "Well DMR and DSTAR uses the internet and wouldn't be working when it goes down". Well Zello uses internet and is very Active and is being use to help. I went through hurricane Rita here and never once Lost Internet connection. That was a category 3 storm when it made landfall. Is it just me or is amateur radio losing to new technology? Should I just trade all my radios for a smart phone?
    Thanks
    Ted KG5TED

KK4HPY and W5TTP like this.
  2. KB9UWU

KB9UWU Ham Member QRZ Page

I've been a ham for 18 years and have no idea what DSTAR DMR or Fusion is... maybe we're the ignorant ones.

N3AB, K1TGX and W4IOA like this.
  3. KG5TED

KG5TED XML Subscriber QRZ Page

That's is what's great about ham radio there is something for everyone. My favorite is HF, but, just wanted more tools in the toolbox.
    Thanks
    Ted KG5TED

N3AB likes this.
  4. WN2C

WN2C Ham Member QRZ Page