Alinco DJ-VX50T

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Equipment Reviews' started by W4EKJ, Sep 24, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: L-Geochron
ad: abrind-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: HRDLLC-2
  1. W4EKJ

W4EKJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi everyone, I'm new to amateur radio and looking to purchase a better radio than my UV-5R. Why do I have a UV-5R? I bought it to monitor but then realized that I wanted to get my license. I've been going back and forth on what I want and I've decided I want a radio that also does airband, I live near an airport. Looking around I found the Yaesu FT-70 and the Alinco DJ-VX50T, Wouxun KG-UV9 among others. I'll probably end up getting the Yaesu but the Alinco has my attention. It's cheaper, but it's only analog although I hear Alinco is/was a really good brand. Being new to the hobby I'm unsure if it's wise to get into digital so soon before I am more experienced.

All that said. I can't find much on the Alinco. I've found two reviews and one was a 5 star and the other a 1 star and I always take bad reviews with a "well, what did you do wrong" approach unless there is a common theme. Does anyone here have any information on the Alinco DJ-VX50T they can share? I'll post a link below.

https://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-017042#

2. KY4DS

KY4DS Ham Member QRZ Page

Alinco seems to be a reputable brand, but much less popular than Yaesu/Icom/Kenwood. I just placed an order for one, since most Japanese HTs seem to be out of stock.

If you want to get on digital radio (System Fusion/DMR/DSTAR) then get the FT-70. You can build a hotspot (home repeater) with a Raspberry PI, MMDVM board plugged on top and running PiStar and configure to connect to other repeaters/reflecters/talkgroups through the internet.