AEA PK-232MBX Configuration

Discussion in 'Working Different Modes' started by KB4MTO, Nov 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KB4MTO

KB4MTO Ham Member QRZ Page

I just purchased a used AEA PK-232MBX/DSP. It took me a while to get the RS-232 cable figured out, but I am now communicating with the TNC. My question involves plugging a radio into the TNC. Just to see it work, I plugged the audio out from a Radio Shack Pro-164 scanner into the Radio 1 Audio In port. When I powered up the 232, the display no longer had the standard AEA initialization message, but instead displayed "ORT". I unplugged the radio and it still did this. I opened the unit up and removed J1 for 5 minutes. The TNC then started up fine. But when I connected the audio again, the same thing happened.

Does anyone know what could be going on? I am new to this TNC and want to get it going.

Thanks in advance.

Hank Lambert
    KB4MTO / TA5ZC

2. K7GQ

K7GQ Subscriber QRZ Page

I believe that the message indicates that the TNC is in "host mode" - I can't imagine why.

You might wish to use software from Creative Services Software at http://www.cssincorp.com and get away from "command mode".

3. KB4MTO

Thanks for the reply. I have downloaded and installed the Radio Operation Center from CSS. When I started it, it immediately went into the TNC wizard and detected and identified the PK-232 MBX. When the program opens, it checks for Host mode, KISS mode, and for New User mode. Then I get an INIT01 error stating that ROC had a communications error with the TNC, and that I should call CSS. However, when I open Tera-term, I can control the TNC and key and unkey the radio. However, I don't see anything in Tera-Term when I receive Packet signals. I don't know if I have a bad TNC, a mis-configured TNC, bad or incorrect cables, or a combination.

Hank
    KB4MTO

4. KD8ATF

KD8ATF Ham Member QRZ Page