advice wanted HF antenna for treeless backyard

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by AF5UP, Mar 20, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. AF5UP

AF5UP Ham Member QRZ Page

[​IMG]

Greetings,

I am a new ham interested in HF. As I hope you can see in the picture I have a house and a shed
    I should like to have the shack in the shed. There is a light pole on the front of the shed about 15 ft high & I can erect a 10 ft pole on my chimney that will be perhaps 35 feet high. As shown in the picture there is a distance of about 67 ft from one to the other plus a bit more for elevation. I have played around with a hamitup & a random wire & think I can hear some 40m & 20m, so that would probably be the best to focus on.

The overall layout seems to says "end fed" to me, but as an ignorant newbie, I should be very grateful for any advice

Attached Files:

2. AJ5J

AJ5J Ham Member QRZ Page

You're on the right track and off to a good start. I would suggest either a dipole (fed in the center with balanced line if doable) or an end fed would work for you, especially with the shed being your shack. Check out MyAntennas.com for some well-built EFHWs unless you want to DIY (they require a transformer circuit that is not an everyday garden-variety one).

Welcome to hamdom and GL with your endeavors. I'm sure many others will chime in shortly, too.

73, Jeff

PS: These antennas (and all others) will work best if you can elevate them a bit more---35-45 feet would be great if you can manage such a height---galvanized toprail at Home Depot might work out for you if so.

Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
    WB5YUZ likes this.
  3. WB5YUZ

WB5YUZ Ham Member QRZ Page

I'd like second Jeff's advice, especially if you are interested in DX.

Thirty feet is a respectable height for 20m. It will work ok for 40m. A mast made of 16' 2x4 will get you to 32 or 34 feet pretty easily.